How to Memorialize a Facebook Account
Published on February 18, 2022
If a loved one has passed away, seeking closure and memorializing their profile can be a way of coping and honoring their memory. Memorialization means that the Facebook account is no longer visible to the general public while allowing friends and family to leave posts. However, these accounts are not entirely gone nor deleted; Facebook says that profiles in this memorialized state may be visible to people on a "need-to-know basis."
Who Should Memorialize A Facebook Account?
Memorializing a Facebook account can be done by anyone, even if they are not related to the person who passed away. It is only necessary that the account be verified, which means that you will need to provide Facebook with proof of death before being allowed to memorialize an account.
What are the Benefits of Memorializing a Facebook Account?
When a Facebook account is memorialized, it will no longer appear in public spaces. In addition, websites that use Facebook accounts for log-in purposes will also no longer access the account.
It's important to note that Facebook will not delete memorialized accounts, and neither photos, messages, status updates, or wall posts will be automatically deleted.
Can you opt for permanent deleting rather than memorializing?
Yes, you can. When a Facebook account is memorialized, it is no longer accessible administratively to anyone except by a living friend or family member. It is not deleted; however, there is an option to permanently delete it. You simply request this, and Facebook will delete the account and all personal information.
Is it possible to find out who memorialized a specific Facebook page?
Yes, Facebook keeps a record of all memorialized profiles and pages but does not allow anyone to see whose page has been memorialized. This record is mainly for reference purposes, and at no time would Facebook ever disclose this information.
How long does it take to memorialize a Facebook account?
After receiving proof of death, Facebook is pretty quick to act on memorializing your loved one's account. You will be notified once the page has been memorialized.
Is it possible to de-memorialize or un-memorialize a Facebook account?
No, this cannot be done. When a Facebook account is memorialized, it remains this way forever.
Can you control who can see your profile after you have passed away?
Yes, you can leave instructions on what your family members should do once you have passed away. This is done by updating your profile settings so that family and friends can leave messages and condolences on your profile. These may be limited to immediate family or open to all who know you.
How to Perform a Memorialization On Facebook?
To memorialize an account after proof of death has been provided, simply follow the below instructions:
- First, click on Privacy Shortcuts in the top right-hand corner of Facebook.
- From the Privacy Shortcuts menu, click on How do I stop someone from bothering me?
- From this new page, select Memorialize a Friend.
- Finally, fill out the memorialization form and submit proof of death.
After memorializing a Facebook account, you can then create a memorial website. Setting up a memorial website allows friends and family to quickly post condolences, photos, memories, and even stories about the deceased. You will then be notified that the account has been memorialized.
Published on February 18, 2022